I’ve Known You For So Long

Thought Catalog

I took an individually wrapped toothpick from the stack as we walked out of the restaurant onto Hudson Street. I knew you would want it.

“How did you know I’d want this?”

“Well, don’t you?”

“A toothpick, you kidding me?”

I knew you would want it, because I’ve known you for so long.

I know I can wash my feet at your apartment without having to explain myself. On separate occasions, I have sent you a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils, a scene from Black Swan as written by Nora Ephron, and a pair of red adult-sized footy pajamas. I didn’t worry you’d think it was weird. I never worry you will think I’m weird, because I’ve known you for so long.

I know you will fall asleep with a book on your chest every night. I know you need to put on your glasses to hear me better. I…

View original post 522 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

